Author Topic: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild  (Read 7785 times)

labasus

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« on: April 01, 2009, 04:04:23 pm »
   

I've got WHR-G300N Ver.1.60 (R1.49/B1.09

Router reset settings was done before I begin.

 

It is second router with simular problem.

 

First router after 3 weeks just stop detect DHCP queues from provider via WAN port. Tech. support detect that was WAN port failure, not recoveravable problem and return me a new one.

Second router after cable connecting into the WAN port does not detect IP automatically from DHCP server,

        but after SETUP -> Check connectingit really detect IP from DHCP.

 

Question:  What's wrong with this router, maybe some firmware upgrade could be helpful? I have found nothing to upgrade, cause there is no new firmware versions yet.

 

Some suggestions?


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 04:20:21 pm »
   DHCP for mine works fine but I set it to static most of the time. Are you sure your modem(or whatever is doing the DHCP) is configured properly?

labasus

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 04:29:50 pm »
   If I have use an another router (like Dlink or Linksys) DHCP IP detection works fine....

Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 05:33:32 pm »
   Is it using Perform Easy Setup or DHCP as the IP aquisition option?

labasus

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2009, 01:37:20 pm »
   Internet/LAN -> Internet -> Method -> Aquire and IP Adress Automatically from DHCP server

Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2009, 06:30:04 pm »
Who's your internet service provider? Did you power cycle your cable/DSL modem with it connected to the router?

labasus

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2009, 02:53:46 pm »
   

Internet provider is a TEO, Vilnius-Lithuania.

I have a Fiber optic converter at home, nothing special...

 

As I've said other wireless routers have no problems with IP detection via DHCP.


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2009, 12:43:27 pm »

That's quite strange... when you do get a DHCP lease (with a computer or something) from the internet provider, what are the first two numbers in the ip address? 192.168.x.x or similar? Also, what is the subnet mask?


labasus

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2009, 08:38:48 am »
   I've got an external IP address from internet provider IP Address starting 78.60.xxx.xxx

elmoo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2010, 02:31:42 pm »
   

Hello,

I have same internet connection: Fiber optic -> TEO -> Vilnius, Lithuania

Router whr-g300nv2-eu firmware 1.70.

 

Router doesn't get IP address from provider, using DHCP.

I have tested router in other Internet Service Provider network, it gets IP very quickl via DHCP.

D-LINK works fine in TEO network, so why whr-g300nv2-eu has problems quiring IP ?

What could be the reason for that? any ideas?


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2010, 04:42:21 pm »

Hook up your computer directly to the cable modem via Ethernet. Confirm that it works, and you get a public IP address on the computer. Find out the Physical address of the ethernet port on the PC (in a command prompt, "ipconfig /all" without quotes, look for the Physical Address under Local Area Connection.

 

Hook up the router to the modem, log into the web interface, and in Internet/LAN, change the MAC Address of Internet port to the physical address you found for the computer. Make sure you replace the dashes with colons (01-23-45-67-89-AB becomes 01:23:45:67:89:AB), and enter it in.


elmoo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2010, 02:00:37 am »
   

Hello Collin,

 

I have connected the the cable direct to PC.

1.Cloned MAC address to the router with colons.

2. Entered all the addresses (IP, gateway, DNS) manually to the router.

3. Connected to the router via Wifi

4. CONNECTED TO THE INTERNET!

5. For unknown reasons after an hour internet connection disappears.

6. Again plug in the ethernet cable to the directly to the PC to check the connections.

7. PC gets quickly the same address via dhcp.

8. Internet is accessible.

9. Plug in the cable back to the router 

10. Internet is working again.

 

Two main problems:

 

1) Why router doesn't get IP via dhcp?

If it is set to 'Acquire an IP Address Automatically from a DHCP Server' , the connection status is "Querying" all the time and nothing happens. Even if you trey "RELEASE -> RENEW " several times with timeouts between the actions.

It seems that router doesn't understand dhcp messages sent from the provider. 

 

2) If the IP address is set manually, anyway the connection is being lost after an hour and recovers only after :

    a) plugging the cable directly to the PC

    b) Enter any website to check the connection.

    c) put back ethernet cable to the router. 

 

Also it is strange that firmware version in section Admin config-> update->

Firmware
Version

WHR-G301N Ver.1.70

 

is different from diagnostic-> model -> WHR-G300N Ver.1.70 (R4.02/B1.00)

 

Does anyone else get the same problem? 

 

 

 


havito

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2010, 05:50:25 am »
   

Anybody found solution for this problem? I  have WZR-HP-G300NH.  Internet provider is a TEO, Lithuania.  Router doesn't get IP address from provider, using DHCP. With dd-wrt firmware it`s ok, but with dd-wrt i can`t use torrent downloading.


bakanub

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2010, 03:39:45 pm »
   

just wanted to bump the thread as i have the same problem. with dd-wrt - dhcp works perfectly...


Big_Dog

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WHR-G300N WAN DHCP faild
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2010, 07:25:02 pm »
   

Same Problem - I use comcast.Takes about 5 to 10 minutes and many retries before I can  get an IP