Author Topic: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54  (Read 8652 times)

Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« on: March 29, 2009, 09:50:16 am »
   

I've tried everything I can think of.  I spent about 4 hours last night with tech support from my ISP, Buffalo, and Microsoft trying to fix this problem.  (Most of that time was waiting on hold for Buffalo.  SEVENTY SIX MINUTES before they picked up.  I couldn't believe it).  Then when I got the guy on the phone he didn't do anything to help me and sounded bored out of his mind.


I have UPnP enabled.  I have all of the XBOX ports forwarded.  I have the IP Address of the DMZ entered. 

Microsoft is telling me to call Buffalo back and ask them to open my NAT because the 360 is telling me it is strict and that is why I can't connect to games (even though I can connect to XBL just fine).  

 

I don't know what else to do.  Any suggestions?


Jason

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 10:59:26 am »

What kind of internet do you have, DSL?

 

There isn't much to do, if the xbox is in the dmz and all your other computers can connect fine it's unlikely to be an issue with the router. 

 

There is no way to open a NAT touble on most routers, it is what it is, and the NAT on these routers are open. 

 

Lots of people use XBL and play games online without ever having to forward a single port, but with your xbox in the dmz, again it's unlikely to be a router problem. 

 

If you have DSL  there is the possibility of double NAT though, which is what you're problem could be, it depends on your ISP and the model modem they gave you.

Message Edited by Jason on 03-29-2009 10:59 AM
Message Edited by Jason on 03-29-2009 11:00 AM

Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 11:05:38 am »
   

Hi Jason,

Thanks for the quick response.

Yes I do have DSL through Windstream.  http://www.windstream.com/

 

I have the Siemens Speedstream 4200 ADSL modem:

 

http://www.epinions.com/review/SIEMENS_4200_USB_BRIDGE_ETHERNET_USB_BRIDGE_ANNEX_A_US_13A4200001/content_245708263044

 

Is it some type of PPPoE setting I have to change or does the router automatically do that if needed?


Do I need to setup a Static IP address?


Thanks again.

Message Edited by Billdemart on 03-29-2009 11:06 AM
Message Edited by Billdemart on 03-29-2009 11:07 AM

Jason

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 11:28:02 am »

Go to the diagnostic page of your WHR-HP-G54 and look in the box labeled WAN.

 

Just paste the information from there into your reply here. 


Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2009, 12:32:44 pm »
   Connection Status Communicating Operation IP Address 192.168.254.1  Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0  Default Gateway 192.168.254.254 (Via DHCP) DNS1(Primary) 192.168.254.254 (Via DHCP) DNS2(Secondary) 192.168.254.254 (Via DHCP) Host Name AP001D73DE1394 (Manual Setup) Domain Name domain.invalid (Via DHCP) MTU Size 1500 DHCP Server Address 192.168.254.254 Lease Acquired Time 2006/01/01 00:00:16 Lease Period INFINITE
Wired Link 100Base-TX (Full-duplex) MAC Address 00:1D:73:DE:13:94

Jason

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2009, 12:47:44 pm »
Your modem is giving you a private IP address meaning it's got a NAT table functioning in it as well, you're going to have to get your modem bridged, so it's functioning just as a modem not as a hybrid device.

Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2009, 12:50:20 pm »
   

That sounds familiar.  I think I remember having to do this with my old Linksys when we moved here a year ago and got this DSL setup.

 

Does that mean I have to call Windstream tech support and get them to help me do it?


Jason

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2009, 01:09:29 pm »
Yep.

Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2009, 01:21:30 pm »
   Thanks Jason,

One last question.

Does it make sense that even though I already did this before (bridged the modem), that I would have to do it again with the new router?

Thanks again.

Bill

Jason

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2009, 06:00:22 pm »
Well, if it was bridged before it's no longer bridged now, that's what that info told me, so if it got powercycled, reset etc it's very possible it went back to working in it's default mode.

Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2009, 07:23:02 pm »
   

You were right...  Thanks so much.  It was incredibly easy to bridge the modem and that fixed that problem.  I wish I would have talked to you before all the crap I just went through.


The only problem I'm having now is I keep getting intermittent slowdown on the internet.  When it happens I look over at the modem and router and the Modem ACTIVITY light will be flashing green really fast.  Also at the sametim the Airstation Wireless G will have the lowercase "g" flashing really fast as well matching the modem activity light.  


It is happening several times a minute.  Any ideas?


Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2009, 12:52:42 pm »
   

The first problem is fixed.  Now there is a new one.

I can't connect to XBOX LIVE and play online unless I power cycle the router EVERY SINGLE TIME I try to get on Xbox Live.  I've had to do it 3 times over the past few days.   3 times in a row, I start the XBOX and it won't connect. 


Then I power cycle the modem and router and then I can connect. 


This never happened with the old router.


Any ideas?

Thanks,

Bill


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2009, 06:35:52 pm »
Did you try taking the XBOX out of the DMZ? :)

Billdemart

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2009, 09:47:22 am »
   I just checked the AirStation settings under NAT and there is no IP address in the DMZ box.  What should I do?

Thanks!

Bill

Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Can't play XBOX 360 games with WHR-HP-G54
« Reply #14 on: April 18, 2009, 02:13:25 pm »
Are you connecting the 360 wired or wireless to the router?