Author Topic: WHR-G300N HELP HELP  (Read 4746 times)

r4x0r

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« on: December 25, 2008, 11:55:04 pm »
   

I would like to check my router's (above) signal range. appaently, this N router range seems to be weaker than my old wireless G router from ASUS. using my old router, at the furthest corner of my house, i could still get a signal strength of 3 bars, with speed constantly at 48mbps. however, using the above mentioned new router, my signal strength at the same spot ranges 1-2 bars and speed is only at 39mbps. I wonder why is this the case. 


Also, i cant seem to be able to switch on 802.11n for this router. Are there any firmware updates as it dont seem to be supported on any web. Mods, please help, thanks.


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 12:36:17 am »
   

To use draft N you need an N card, and it will automatically use N when you use an N card.

 (eg: an N USB Adapter

 but THIS would give you a stronger signal)

As for signal strength, check that the output power is at 100% in advanced wireless config,as for the 39mpbs speed, speeds decrease as the signal gets weaker and make sure that the  Multicast Rate is set to Auto in advanced wireless config.

Message Edited by Aveyer on 12-26-2008 06:40 AM

r4x0r

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 02:51:57 am »
   yeah. i did set it as wht you have mentioned and yes i do have an n usb adapter. using the n usb adapter, im receiving the 39 mbps.

Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 12:55:38 pm »
   obstacles or weaker signal must be limiting throughput.

r4x0r

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2009, 04:16:13 am »
   sorry. but wht is throughput? issit the output power? it is already set at 100%

Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2009, 01:16:00 pm »
   Throughput is how much bandwith (like the connection speed), Wireless G goes to a maximum of 54mbps throughput and N is 300mbps throughput. Also, try setting the channel mode or something on the basic wireless config page to 40mhz instead of 20mhz and choose an extension channel, then you might get higher bandwith or enable N. Haven't tried N yet so not sure how much difference it makes.
Message Edited by Aveyer on 01-03-2009 07:18 PM

Jason

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2009, 02:51:38 pm »
   Can't give you really any specific advice here, that product is not available for sale here in the US, so i don't have any product information available. You'd want to check your regions buffaltech website for software updates.

r4x0r

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WHR-G300N HELP HELP
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2009, 11:24:51 pm »
   thts the prob.. cos its only available in the jap region and i cant read jap.