Author Topic: My hard drive is no longer showing up on my computer  (Read 2694 times)

19MandaPanda92

• Calf
My hard drive is no longer showing up on my computer
« on: April 30, 2012, 11:22:14 AM »

I have the Buffalo Tech MiniStation Stealth 500GB USB 2.0 model HD-PCT500U2/B. I have owned it less than a month. I bought it from Amazon.com brand new. I have been using it (with NO problems) since I received it, around April 6th or so. I am a photographer and I was running out of space on my computer's hard drive storing all of my RAW files and such. I bought this hard drive for my business specifically. Now I have moved ALL of my client's photos to this hard drive, and suddenly it's not working. It is VERY important that I recover these files. This is what happened:

On a job in Arkansas on Saturday night, I was sitting in my hotel room getting ready to look at the pictures from the wedding I'd just photographed and move them to my external hard drive when the hard drive started to freeze up. Every time I would try to access the hard drive through my Bridge program it would freeze for a while, then finally open the file I wanted. Waiting ten minutes for each file to open was getting annoying so I closed the program and safely ejected the hard drive, deciding that I would work on it later. Last night, I got home from Arkansas and decided to try again. I turned on my computer and inserted the USB but Windows Explorer is not registering its existence. The only location the computer at all recognizes the device is with the little "Safely Remove Hardware" button - if I click it and the list of devices to eject shows up, it will be located in this list but I can find it NOWHERE else on the computer. I HAVE to recover these files. I have been paid money for the photos on this drive and if I can't access them I will have to return that money. Last night I got frustrated and gave up.