Buffalo Forums

Products => Storage => : dalamar23666 May 04, 2019, 01:42:47 AM

: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: dalamar23666 May 04, 2019, 01:42:47 AM
Hi,

I hope you can help.  After a power outage my linkstation will not boot.  No fan no nothing.  I can see the green light blinking when I plug in the power cable but it will not go solid.  There are no indication lights up front.  I have tried a power cable from a known good and nothing.  What are my options?  Can I replace the motherboard and still get the data off the drives?  Is the RAID data stored on the drives and if I buy another unit can I put the drives in and have it recognize them and recover the data?
: Re: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: 1000001101000 May 04, 2019, 07:53:22 AM
Is the green light you're referring to the one on the front or something on the back?

Is the RAID data stored on the drives and if I buy another unit can I put the drives in and have it recognize them and recover the data?
Yes, the software raid metadata is stored on the disks, if there is nothing wrong with the drives themselves you should be able put them in another device of the same model and have it work.

You can also hook the drives to a computer running linux and start the array and recover data from it. 
: Re: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: dalamar23666 May 04, 2019, 09:13:31 AM
Hi,

It is a little LED on the back of the unit by the power cable.
: Re: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: 1000001101000 May 04, 2019, 10:56:34 AM
Huh, I never noticed it on that model before.
: Re: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: dalamar23666 May 04, 2019, 11:39:05 AM
Yeah it is not very big.  If I wasn't looking for something I would have missed it.
: Re: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: dalamar23666 May 04, 2019, 11:44:45 AM
Can I use an LS220DE, or does it have to be the exact model?
: Re: Linkstation WSVL/E won't power up
: 1000001101000 May 04, 2019, 12:27:16 PM
The drives from an ls-wvl would probably boot in an ls-qvl or another ls-wvl but thatís about it. It would not work in the ls220.