Buffalo Forums

Products => Storage => : Alfred96 October 22, 2018, 04:38:30 AM

: Increase HDD Size of LS-QVL
: Alfred96 October 22, 2018, 04:38:30 AM
I have an LS-QVL NAS with four 1 TB drives and setup for Raid5. I would like to replace the drives with 2 TB drives to increase the capacity.

I have backups so don't care about losing what is on the existing drives.

Can I simply replace the four 1 TB with 2 TB drives and then create the RAID5 array? Or are there additional intermediate steps?

Thanks
: Re: Increase HDD Size of LS-QVL
: davo October 22, 2018, 06:01:59 AM
Option 1:

Replace disk1 with a high capacity disk -> Rebuild the RAID -> Wait 18-24 hours for the rebuild to complete.
Once done,
Replace disk2 with a high capacity disk -> Rebuild the RAID -> Wait 18-24 hours for the rebuild to complete.
Once done,
Replace disk3 with a high capacity disk -> Rebuild the RAID -> Wait 18-24 hours for the rebuild to complete.
Once done,
Replace disk4 with a high capacity disk -> Rebuild the RAID -> Wait 18-24 hours for the rebuild to complete.
Then delete and recreate the RAID -> Wait 18-24 hours for the rebuild to complete.
Only once you delete/recreate the RAID will you see the high capacity.

Total time -> 90 to 120 hours.

Option 2:

Or get the recovery file for the LS-QVL -> Replace all the disks at once and load the recovery file to install the OS onto the new disks.
Total time for this -> 30 mins  -> 1 hour.
: Re: Increase HDD Size of LS-QVL
: 1000001101000 October 22, 2018, 08:40:06 AM
If it is the LS-QVL/E you can also install the firmware via Buffalo's "Quick Start" method. That method is described in the "Quick Setup Guide for LS-QVL/E" here:
http://buffalo.jp/support_ap/support/products/ls_qvl.html


**Again this only applies to the LS-QVL/E, if this is a LS-QV4.0TL it won't work.

Otherwise you can do a fresh firmware install using the recovery files like davo suggested. That procedure is described in this post:

https://forums.buffalotech.com/index.php?topic=25358.msg90493#msg90493
: Re: Increase HDD Size of LS-QVL
: pellajl April 25, 2019, 11:05:57 PM
I have posted a description on how to recover a LS-QVL/E unit here:

http://forums.buffalotech.com/index.php?topic=25014.msg92441#msg92441