Buffalo Forums

Products => Storage => : mjrgroup October 26, 2017, 08:45:58 AM

: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: mjrgroup October 26, 2017, 08:45:58 AM
I just purchased a TS5400R 4-drive TeraStation without hard drives and will be purchasing 4 hard drives to populate the NAS unit.

Looking at the specs it appears that the original unit was sold with only up to 4TB capacity drives yielding a 16TB total effective capacity.

However, I'm wondering, with the latest Buffalo firmware updates for the device, if the TS5400R will support up to 8TB hard drives.

I was able to find on the Buffalo Asia website, a list of supported hard drives with the unit and a HGST 8TB SATA drives was listed as being supported. Will the TS5400R be able to recognize 8TB hard drives and offer an effective total storage capacity of 8 x 4 = 32TB?

Link to Buffalo Asia site listing hard drives reported to be compatible with the TS5400R: http://www.buffalo-asia.com/support/compatibility/2625/ (http://www.buffalo-asia.com/support/compatibility/2625/)

Thanks in advance
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: davo October 26, 2017, 08:57:12 AM
I've used it with 8TB disks, works fine. Both Seagate and WD.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Texturtle October 26, 2017, 09:03:57 AM
You will need the bootable USB recovery image in order to get the OS onto the unit. It's available for download here: http://www.buffalotech.com/support/downloads/terastation-5000n-series (http://www.buffalotech.com/support/downloads/terastation-5000n-series)

Please take note and follow the steps in the readme carefully.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: mjrgroup October 26, 2017, 09:21:34 AM
Thanks Davo and texturtle.

Texturtle, if I am able to flash the latest firmware onto the device first, or if it already has the latest firmware on it...do I still need the bootable USB recovery tool?
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Texturtle October 26, 2017, 09:42:23 AM
The unit stores the OS on the drives, there is not really any "firmware" on the system board.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: mjrgroup November 09, 2017, 01:14:29 AM
Thanks again Texturtle.

Not to change topics, but I have two other quick questions about the TS5400R unit, which I hope no one minds me asking here.

First: RAM Capacity and ECC (UDIMM and/or RDIMM etc) support?

I recently opened up the lid to the unit to clean out dust and check the condition of the fans and components and noticed the 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM chip on the mainboard.

Does anyone know if that chip is an ECC chip? If not, would the mainboard support an unbuffered ECC DDR3 SO-DIMM chip? Regardless, what is the maximum capacity allowed?

If I have an opportunity to install a higher capacity, unbuffered ECC SO-DIMM DDR3 RAM chip, that would be absolutely awesome.

Because I'm installing four 8TB hard drives, at least in theory, higher capacity memory would most likely suit the larger array.

Second: Sector Size and Advanced Format (AF) 4kn Drives

Is there a way, when creating logical volumes/RAID partitions, to specify the sector size that the NAS/fs uses for the drives? My main issue is with 512e drives, which are actually 4kn AF drives, but logically report to the controller, a 512b sector size for compatibility reasons. When file systems interact with AF 4kn drives with 512b sector sizes, the drives introduce a performance penalty that could be avoided by forcing the use of 4kn sector sizes to begin with.

Is there a way to force the TS5400R NAS to use AF 4kn sector sizes?
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: davo November 09, 2017, 03:36:27 AM
Technically speaking the RAM is not upgradable, it also voids the warranty.

Personally, I've upgraded mine from 2GB to 4GB without issues, the board is limited to 4GB AFAIK.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Texturtle November 09, 2017, 08:53:21 AM
The system does not support ECC RAM.

As far as forcing a different sector size, I'm not sure the system can force a drive to change the way it reports itself.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: garyhgaryh December 18, 2017, 02:10:59 AM
Will the TS5400R support 8T drives? I bought a unit that had 2T drives in it and put 4T drives in with success.
I bought another TS5400R and will put 6T or 8T drives in.  I believe 6T is supported, but will 8T work? Will I hit the 16T volume limit?
Gary
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: davo December 18, 2017, 03:32:04 AM
Will the TS5400R support 8T drives? I bought a unit that had 2T drives in it and put 4T drives in with success.
I bought another TS5400R and will put 6T or 8T drives in.  I believe 6T is supported, but will 8T work? Will I hit the 16T volume limit?
Gary

There is no 16TB volume limit on Terastations, 8TB HDDs should work fine.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: garyhgaryh December 18, 2017, 04:05:10 AM
Will the TS5400R support 8T drives? I bought a unit that had 2T drives in it and put 4T drives in with success.
I bought another TS5400R and will put 6T or 8T drives in.  I believe 6T is supported, but will 8T work? Will I hit the 16T volume limit?
Gary

There is no 16TB volume limit on Terastations, 8TB HDDs should work fine.

Thank you Davo!
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: IT_Guy May 30, 2018, 12:45:43 PM
Hi,  Sorry to revive an old thread but it's very relevant to me.   


So I have a TS5400R that I want to re-drive with the largest drives with great reliability.

The drive I was considering is the Seagate Exos 7E8 8TB 512e SATA 256MB Cache 3.5-Inch Enterprise Hard Drive (ST8000NM0055), but this is not listed on Buffalo's comparability list http://www.buffalo-asia.com/support/compatibility/2625/

Does anyone know if these drives would be comparable? Or am I stuck with the HGST Ultrastar He8 HUH728080ALE604 0F23668 / 0F25721 8TB 7,2K RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB 3.5" HDD 512E  that seem to be hard to find at a reasonable price.

I will be writing a, little changing archive of .tiff images using backup-exec to this TeraStation.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: mjrgroup January 05, 2019, 02:46:49 AM
Thank you all for your responses. I have been successfully running my Terastation with a 4 drive RAID 10 array of Western Digital Red 8TB SATA drives with absolutely no problems for over a year now. Unfortunately, I am now approaching 80% usage of my total capacity and starting to think about the next steps for storage.

Incidentally, I had purchased a second TS5400R and have it sitting in my rack, it currently has no drives in it, so I'm considering populating it with even higher capacity drives.

I know that Davo noted that there is no 16TB volume limit on Terastations. Does that mean that i can use individual HDDs with capacities up to 16TB?

Is there any reason the TS5400R would not be able to support the newer 14TB SATA drives being sold by Seagate and Toshiba? Or the 12TB drives by Seagate and HGST?

Thanks in advance
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Eastmarch January 09, 2019, 05:24:41 PM
Eventually that power supply might not be able to keep up. It's hard to predict, since it isn't tested. Sorry :(
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: mjrgroup January 21, 2019, 07:42:31 PM
I wanted to provide a short update on the amount of RAM and the Terastation's ability to accept more.

The TS5400R comes with a total of 2GB of Hynix DDR3 1333MHz 9-9-9 RAM in one SO-DIMM. (Model # is H5TQ2G83CFR-H9C https://www.skhynix.com/eolproducts.view.do?pronm=DDR3+SDRAM&srnm=H5TQ2G83CFR&rk=19&rc=computing (https://www.skhynix.com/eolproducts.view.do?pronm=DDR3+SDRAM&srnm=H5TQ2G83CFR&rk=19&rc=computing))

I successfully replaced the SO-DIMM with a Samsung 4GB DDR3 1600MHz SO-DIMM (Model # M471B5273DH0-CK0; https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/dram/module/M471B5273DH0-CK0/ (https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/dram/module/M471B5273DH0-CK0/))

The Samsung 4GB 1600 RAM works perfectly fine on my unit (TS5400R running 4x 8TB WD Red SATA drives in RAID 10), with the latest firmware as of 21 January 2019! I shut down the unit, installed the RAM and instantly saw my memory usage go down from 9% to ~4% at idle, so I presume it's seeing all 4GB. Incidentally, from the advanced web GUI, when I click the info drop down, it used to display the GB of RAM, but now after a recent firmware update it just shows a percentage of utilization. I guess Buffalo thought owners had no need to see the full amount of RAM the system uses? That's silly and I would like to see the total RAM available brought back.

In the future, as I experiment with newer, higher capacity (12TB+) drives in the Terastation, I'll keep this thread updated.

I will say that, whether I continue to buy Buffalo NAS appliances in the future or not, will depend on Buffalo's continued ability to accept higher capacity drives without placing limits. For example, this is why I no longer use the Linkstation. So far I am very satisfied with the Terastation TS5400R.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Hackmaxxx January 28, 2019, 10:08:59 PM
Just sharing knowledge.
I just upgraded my TS5400R with 4X 12TB drives. Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
I'm running them in Raid 10 without a problem.
But before i did the Raid 10, i tried Raid 0 and Raid 5 so that i could share the knowledge here.
They all worked just fine.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: mjrgroup February 21, 2019, 02:03:19 AM
Hackmaxx, thanks so much for sharing that! You confirmed what I really needed to know. I'll probaby go with either 12TB or even 14TB drives and report back here.

Did you also upgrade the onboard RAM?
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: 1000001101000 February 21, 2019, 07:29:43 AM
Dumb question: 4x 12tb drives in raid10 would be a ~24tb array, have you tried filling it up? My guess is that a 24tb xfs volume on a 64-bit kernel (even an older one like this) would work but Iíve never tested. I have run into a hard 16tb limit on 32bit systems (xfs and ext4) and even on 64bit systems with ext4.

Try filling it up with data and make sure you can actually write past the 16tb mark. Even on 64-bit systems the default for some filesystems is still a 32-bit address space (2^32 * 4k blocks = 16tb).

Its probably fine but you dont want to learn the hard way

 
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: oxygen8 February 21, 2019, 08:02:03 AM
I had tested to format a 24TB Raid5 (4x 8TB)
mdadm was able to start the array, but mkfs.xfs was not able to create the filesystem
(LS-QVL  Marvell 88F6282 ARM)

Hackmaxxx was able to do that.

: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: 1000001101000 February 21, 2019, 08:45:10 AM
I wish I had taken better notes when I did that testing. I remember some in some instances mkfs did fail but I think it did succeed for some filesystems.... or maybe mkfs would fail but growing the filesystem wouldnít throw any errors.

I do remember that mdadm had no problem creating the array but dd and other tools would fail writing aything past 16tb.

I always try to recommend testing you can write to an entire array before relying on it becuase these types of issues arenít always aparent right away.

Over the years Iíve run into 4 or 5 independent issues that resulted in drives/arrays that reported one size but could only be partially accessed ~2 of which were related to 16tb kernel/filesystem limits.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Specter6633 February 22, 2019, 11:22:01 AM
Joined this forum just to say thank you. been looking for a NAS that can support 8tb + drives. you guys rock.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Hackmaxxx March 01, 2019, 02:40:24 PM
Hackmaxx, thanks so much for sharing that! You confirmed what I really needed to know. I'll probaby go with either 12TB or even 14TB drives and report back here.

Did you also upgrade the onboard RAM?

I did not upgrade the ram. The NAS is only used for Acronis backup storage. Users don't connect to it for file transfers.
I did check the NAS logs and do not see any spikes in CPU or memory.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Hackmaxxx March 01, 2019, 02:45:20 PM
Dumb question: 4x 12tb drives in raid10 would be a ~24tb array, have you tried filling it up? My guess is that a 24tb xfs volume on a 64-bit kernel (even an older one like this) would work but Iíve never tested. I have run into a hard 16tb limit on 32bit systems (xfs and ext4) and even on 64bit systems with ext4.

Try filling it up with data and make sure you can actually write past the 16tb mark. Even on 64-bit systems the default for some filesystems is still a 32-bit address space (2^32 * 4k blocks = 16tb).

Its probably fine but you dont want to learn the hard way

I did read about the 16tb limit, but was told by tech support that there is no such limit.
I thought it was worth the gamble to buy 4x 12tb drives for $2400 cad, then it was to have to buy another NAS for over $5000 cad.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: garryschaffel January 21, 2020, 04:18:32 PM
Sorry to reopen this thread, but you guys seem to have a lot of experience upgrading these systems and I want to make use of that knowledge.

I have a TS5400R that came with 2TB drives, it is FULL and I want to upgrade.  This unit is being used as an ArcServe backup storage location and is configured in RAID 5 (YEA I KNOW.....) but since it is just backup storage I am comfortable with 5 since it gives me the most amount of storage with some redundancy.
I would like to keep the current backups and have them available on the new array, is it possible to replace the drives one at a time and then expand the array after all have been upgraded to 8TB drives? Or would it just make more sense to pull the current drives place in storage and reinstall if I ever needed to get something off them?

: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: Hackmaxxx January 23, 2020, 01:43:17 PM
Hello garryschaffel,

I think your best bet would be to pull your data onto another drive then replace the drives in your NAS.
These boxes are not the fastest at rebuilding Raid arrays.
It will take a really long time for it to rebuild the array 4 times.
: Re: Buffalo TeraStation TS5400R Hard Drive Capacity Support
: MykolW October 23, 2020, 02:05:15 PM
Dumb question: 4x 12tb drives in raid10 would be a ~24tb array, have you tried filling it up? My guess is that a 24tb xfs volume on a 64-bit kernel (even an older one like this) would work but Iíve never tested. I have run into a hard 16tb limit on 32bit systems (xfs and ext4) and even on 64bit systems with ext4.

Try filling it up with data and make sure you can actually write past the 16tb mark. Even on 64-bit systems the default for some filesystems is still a 32-bit address space (2^32 * 4k blocks = 16tb).

Its probably fine but you dont want to learn the hard way

I did read about the 16tb limit, but was told by tech support that there is no such limit.
I thought it was worth the gamble to buy 4x 12tb drives for $2400 cad, then it was to have to buy another NAS for over $5000 cad.

Sorry for renecroing an old thread, but I couldn't find much else on this topic.  I have a TS5800D with 8x3TB that's almost full.  My idea is to buy 4x16tb Exos drives (https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B07SPFPKF4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=AECIPMEQNVKO2&psc=1) and then add more to the pool as I need more storage.  I'm a little worried that it might not work and a little unsure if you can add drives to the pool after creating a RAID.  Right now I'm in RAID 6 (with 2 drives of redundancy). 

Any thoughts on this?  Sorry if any of my terminology is wrong.  I'm not very deep in the learning curve about NAS.