Buffalo Forums

Products => Solved Storage Threads => : TonyLima October 17, 2008, 12:04:12 PM

: Terastation "classic" - switch from RAID5 to mirroring?
: TonyLima October 17, 2008, 12:04:12 PM
   I have two Terastation classic models (HD-H1.OTGL/R5).  The one currently being used for network backups and archives uses RAID5.  I'd like to start full mirroring from the current RAID5 drive to the second drive, but it looks like switching off RAID5 on the first will also destroy all my data.  Before I take that chance, I thought I'd ask for some expert advice.  Any and all suggestions are welcome.  Thanks. - Tony
: Re: Terastation "classic" - switch from RAID5 to mirroring?
: Paul October 20, 2008, 06:36:40 AM

If you rebuild the raid then all data will be lost.

what you can do is have TS #1 back up all the data to TS #2

you can schedule a back up job from a to b

 

: Re: Terastation "classic" - switch from RAID5 to mirroring?
: TonyLima October 22, 2008, 10:45:28 AM
   I was hoping for something a little less drastic, but that will work.  Thanks. - Tony