Buffalo Forums

Products => Other Products, including computer memory => : Knaxia June 11, 2009, 05:31:44 PM

: FSX800D2B-K4G + P5N-D = not working w/ correct timing.
: Knaxia June 11, 2009, 05:31:44 PM
   

I just dropped in those 2 sticks of 2GB on my mobo (removing my existing normal ones), booted just fine. I went up in the bios, I changed all the settings

 

-CAS# Latency to 4 (tCL in bios)

-RAS to CAS to 4 (tRCD in bios)

-RAS Prefetch to 4 (tRP in bios)

-Cycle Time to 12 (tRAS in bios)

 

others were left to Auto (tRC, CR, etc)

 

I then went into the Vdimm voltage and tried both 2.090V and 2.110V (I don't have 2.10).

 

PV starts, long beep loop, I reset, go back in bios, nothing changed, if I keep it like that and reset, same thing. I drop all to auto, works fine, I check in windows w/ CPU-Z , it's at the default 5-5-5-23?? 1.8V..... it's the same speed as my other ram I was using...

 

...help?

 

P.S I'm using bios Version 0801 (I just saw there's a 1101 bios, I'll updated it just after this post)

: Re: FSX800D2B-K4G + P5N-D = not working w/ correct timing.
: drmemory June 30, 2009, 11:14:48 AM

you might need to bump your Northbridge voltage by .1V when running the RAM at 4-4-4

 

Also, the tRAS should be at 15

Message Edited by drmemory on 06-30-2009 11:15 AM
: Re: FSX800D2B-K4G + P5N-D = not working w/ correct timing.
: Pappu August 18, 2009, 03:55:18 PM

Thank you for the discussion. Its really nice one.

Message Edited by drmemory on 08-18-2009 03:59 PM
: Re: FSX800D2B-K4G + P5N-D = not working w/ correct timing.
: Knaxia October 10, 2009, 01:26:43 PM
   

This board seems crap for anything than running at stock...

 

I upped the NB to 1.5V (default 1.4V), upped the memory voltage to 2.110V (since 2.1V isn't there), I set the timing to 4-4-4-15, save and reboot. The PC boots up.. beeps, goes into windows, I start up CPU-Z... It's ALL AT THE DEFAULT THINGS AGAIN!.....5-5-5-23 1.8V ... wtf is that?

: Re: FSX800D2B-K4G + P5N-D = not working w/ correct timing.
: Memoryman October 13, 2009, 03:55:43 PM
   

CPU-Z doesn't read the BIOS. It reads the memory SPD. You can changed the BIOS settings completely, and CPU-Z still reads the program in the SPD.

Try memtest86 - it reads the BIOS.