Buffalo Forums

Products => Storage => : chas January 24, 2009, 02:32:08 AM

: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: chas January 24, 2009, 02:32:08 AM
   

After reading the press release here:

http://www.dlna.org/news/pr/view?item_key=f3461a87c502ae5126637fe5b6922319a763f0a6

I am wondering how to find/install the twonky server package that will/is being bundled for the LS PRo Duo, since I bought one a couple of weeks ago thinking twonky was already on it. Could someone from Buffalo update us on this situation?

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Colin137 January 27, 2009, 04:26:26 PM
Installing software on the NAS devices is not supported nor covered under the warranty. The newer revision of the Linkstation Pro Duo (2 usb ports, 3.xx firmware) has the Twonky media server installed.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: chas February 15, 2009, 03:53:22 PM
   

Colin-

my LS Pro Duo fits the description (2 usb ports & 3.xx firmware):

Model Name LS-WTGL/R1-V3  - Firmware Version 3.08
and yet I do not have Twonkymedia installed, How do I make that happen?
Thanks
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: blchicago February 16, 2009, 09:11:47 PM
   

Hi Chas:

 

Just happened across your message ... maybe I can help.

 

On my LS Pro Duo, the Media Server tab say PVConnect, but it's my understanding its the same as Twonky.

 

If you go to:

 

http://your-LS-PRO-DUO-IP:9050

 

You get a web page for the Twonky media server on the NAS. There it is branded Twonky, and you can tweak the media server more under "TwonkyMedia Settings."

 

Hope this helps, BL  

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: chas February 20, 2009, 11:05:28 PM
   So that was helpful cool and good, but now I ask, How do I upgrade this to the new version?
Message Edited by chas on 02-20-2009 11:05 PM
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Jason February 21, 2009, 07:15:33 AM
You can't just update the media server, if we bundle that update in one of our firmware updates, then it would get updated.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: ESantiago February 21, 2009, 10:31:13 AM
   

Any word this may happen? It would be very nice.

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Colin137 February 21, 2009, 04:52:15 PM
I'll forward your request to our corporate office.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: kcprice11 March 10, 2009, 08:58:22 PM
   Where can I get the newer revision of the device?  No store that I look at does the vendor advertise 2 usb ports , the 3.xx firmware or R1-V3.  Even on the Buffalo site, the pictures show 1 USB, port, the specs say 1 USB port and the manual says 1 USB port.  I don't want to order it to find out I have the old device.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: ESantiago March 11, 2009, 07:55:02 AM
   I purchased mine at newegg dot com.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: kcprice11 March 11, 2009, 06:45:20 PM
   Did you get the 1 or 2TB Model?
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: ESantiago March 12, 2009, 07:21:47 AM
   I got the 2TB model. Good price too.... in my opinion.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: kgartonpearce April 04, 2009, 07:41:42 AM
   

I have the Linkstation Pro Duo 3.09 that Im trying to get to work with my PS3 and i tried to connect to config page http://your-LS-PRO-DUO-IP:9050 but im not able to connect. The only configureation I have is enable\disable and folder choice. There seems to be no information in the manual I just downloaded. Where can I get more information? How can I connect to http://your-LS-PRO-DUO-IP:9050?

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Dustrega April 04, 2009, 12:28:10 PM
Did you try the media server options that are available in the user interface first before this option? I'm trying to get a unit to test this functionality so I can dispel/confirm any of the functionality that's being suggested here.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: kgartonpearce April 04, 2009, 01:17:11 PM
   My firewall was blocking and now I have my PS3 seing the media server, but it does not see any of the avi or mp4 files.
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Dustrega April 04, 2009, 01:27:22 PM
What firmware version are you running on your PS3?
: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Glen_Zabriskie January 19, 2010, 01:05:24 AM
   

So in other words, thos of us with the LS Pro Duo version 1 model (1 USB port) doesnt have DNLA support????? WTF????????

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: Jason January 19, 2010, 03:00:00 PM

" So in other words, thos of us with the LS Pro Duo version 1 model (1 USB port) doesnt have DNLA support..."

 

That's correct. Nor does it have Web access enabled on it. When that model was on the market it was never advertised to have those features. They were introduced with the hardware revision as a bonus.

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: ajitbhushan April 06, 2010, 09:40:20 AM
   

When i type http://my-linstatio-duo-ip:9050 i get to blank webpage with the TM symbol in the address bar. How do i get to the settings for my twonky server

 

many thanks

 

 

: Re: Twonky Media Server release for LS Pro Duo
: JoshC April 07, 2010, 12:05:21 AM

If you have the v1 ProDuo then there is no Media server.  Check which version you have.